Australian Workers Compensation schemes: overview

Australia has 11 workers’ compensation systems. It’s high time we published an updated comparison of -at least- each of the 8 Australian States & Territories systems, for ease of reference.

Australian Workers Compensation schemes: overview

Each of the eight Australian states and territories has their own workers’ compensation scheme and the Commonwealth has three, including:

  • Australian Government employees, Australian Defence Force personnel with service before 1 July 2004 and the employees of licensed self-insurers under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988
  • Seafarers under the Seafarers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1992
  • Australian Defence Force personnel with service on or after 1 July 2004 under the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004.



The latest Comparison of Workers’ Compensation Arrangements in Australia and New Zealand (2017) report can be found below.




Credit: taken from WorkSafe Australia

No comments yet.
read-before-u-commentThis is a statement pointing you to our seriously injured but esteemed and honourable Social Networking Sites Warning and our comment policy. A must read in the context of a very adversarial workcover system! Remember to mention in which state you reside if you seek advice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *